“Wanting to (rape) isn’t a crime.” Kyle Poynter, Facebook.

SENT TO; FACEBOOK.COM/A WOMAN ON THE INTERNET’ – THE WOMEN (AND MEN) WHO SHARE THEIR STORIES WITH ME HAVE AND WILL HAVE FULL ANONYMITY, UNLIKE THE PEOPLE RESPONSIBLE FOR SEXISM OR RACISM ON THE INTERNET, WHO WILL, IF POSSIBLE, HAVE THEIR IDENTITY REVEALED. 

– AURELIE, A WOMAN ON THE INTERNET


facebook_416x416

Wanting to (rape) isn’t a crime.” Kyle Poynter, Facebook, 29/10/2014, 02:09 am.

Every day. Every single day.

I see women haters. I keep being called a “feminazi”, a bitch, a slut. A coward, because sometimes, I’m afraid to go walk in the streets alone. When I say that I’ve been forcibly masturbated, when I was 14 years old, in the middle of the day, in a public space, they don’t believe me. They call me a liar. When I say that a man twice my age started touching me in the subway, when I was 15, and that I was too afraid to react, they call me a coward, they say I should lock myself up at home if I’m afraid, or that I should quit complaining and get a weapon.

“But why won’t you hit him or yell at him?” Because last time I tried, I almost got beaten up by a guy twice my size that attempted to kiss me without my consent, in the middle of the street. And when I reject them politely, either they keep insisting, or I get insulted.

So many of these guys tell me I should be “grateful” for the attention I can get from men in the street. I’m sorry, but I didn’t ask for anything. I’m not asking for compliments. I’m not asking for their attention. I don’t owe them shit. And I don’t feel grateful when a group of guys watch me walk by them, and tell me things like “I’d shove it up your nice little ass.” I am harassed if I show skin. But I get insulted when my outfit is considered too “masculine”. I get called “frigid” or “a lesbian” if I dare reject compliments or invitations from strangers – often twice my age.

I’ve been followed more than once in the street, should it be during the day or at night.

I’ve been harassed by a group of drunk guys in the subway who kept touching my arms and hair, calling me ugly. And I was alone against them.

What saddens me is that the majority of men criticizing and insulting me, and other women, are the kind of guys I could run into any day, in the street. And almost all my female friends have been through situations like these.

Every day I hear news about women who get beaten or killed because they stood up for themselves.

Tell me again how I have “absolutely nothing to fear”.

I am saying this because I believe it is a serious matter, and that people should know about it. The behavior of the men I am talking about here has been normalized for too long. My intention is not to offend, I am not accusing and blaming all men.

I encourage every woman, and man, who has been through harassment to do the same.”

– A woman, May 11th, 2015.

Leave a Reply

